STEM Resources

 
These websites are current as of December 2015.  Inside the Outdoors does not manage these sites and is not responsible for the content on them.
 
Science Journals
preschoolspot.com/science-notebook/ - For printable templates and student pages and ideas for using science notebooks
ecrp.uiuc.edu/beyond/seed/nesholm.html - A paper on the use of science notebooks in a Seattle preschool
yunny.pbworks.com/f/esljournal2.pdf - Another paper on the use of science notebooks in preschool, complete with pictures of student work
 
Resources - General
National Geographic Education - www.natgeoed.com
Science Bob - www.sciencebob.com
Science NetLinks - sciencenetlinks.com
Science Kids - www.sciencekids.co.nz
Science Is Fun - www.scifun.org
Science Buddies - www.sciencebuddies.org
Preschool Resources
Babble Dabble Do - babbledabbledo.com - Creative art and science project ideas focused on families.
Teach Preschool - www.teachpreschool.org - projects and lessons from a preschool classroom
Crafty Child - www.craftychild.com - Easy crafts, games and activities for toddlers and preschoolers
Sophie’s World - sophie-world.com - Blog with art projects, games, songs and other fun things
Learn Play Imagine - www.learnplayimagine.com - Many creative recipes, crafts, science projects, etc.
Sesame Street - www.sesamestreet.org - for lesson plans, art, games, video links
Kitchen Pantry Scientist - kitchenpantryscientist.com - Simple recipes for real science, some video clips.
Places to buy STEM tools:
Lakeshore Learning - www.lakeshorelearning.com
Products: mostly classroom oriented materials, some science kits, slightly expensive
 
Steve Spangler Science Store - www.stevespanglerscience.com
Products:  overall science equipment
 
Acorn Naturalist - www.acornnaturalists.com
Products: books, materials, and tools for studying living things
 
Nature Watch - www.nature-watch.com
Products: Nature craft kits, materials and tools for studying living things, books, toys
 
PhysLink.com Science Store - www.xump.com
Products:  overall science equipment
 
American Science and Surplus - www.sciplus.com
Products:  overall science equipment, electrical equipment
 
Oriental Trading Company - www.orientaltrading.com
Products:  magnifying lenses, kaleidoscopes, prisms
 
Home Science Tools - www.hometrainingtools.com
Products:  overall science equipment
 
Smart and Final - www.smartandfinal.com
Products:  bulk items for conducting experiments
 
Dollar Tree - www.dollartree.com
Products: items for conducting experiments
 
Carolina Biological Supply - www.carolina.com
Products:  overall science equipment, slightly expensive
 
Ward’s Scientific - www.wardsci.com
Products:  overall science equipment, butterfly larvae, webinars, slightly expensive
 
Organizations
Project WET - projectwet.org
Project WILD - www.projectwild.org
Project Learning Tree - www.plt.org
North American Association for Environmental Education - www.naaee.net
Books
The New York Public Library, Science Desk Reference
The Handy Science Answer Book, compiled by the Science and Technology Department of the Carnegie Library of Pittsburgh
Lotions, Potions, and Slime: Mudpies and More!
Author: Nancy Blakey